+61 2 9265 0700 apc2023@arinex.com.au

The Australian Pulse Conference

21 – 23 March 2023

Pulses for People, Profit and the Planet

The Australian Pulse Conference

21 – 23 March 2023

Pulses for People, Profit and the Planet

We acknowledge the Traditional Owners of the land, the Giabal and Jarowair peoples, on which the Empire Theatre is built. We pay our respects to their Elders, past and present. Click here to learn more. 

Register Today

Join us in Toowoomba for a jam-packed scientific program featuring our keynote presentations, oral and rapid-fire presentations. Following the conference will be a dedicated field-day tour. Learn more and register today!


With just under 100 abstract submissions we have been able to provide a thought-provoking, interactive and insightful scientific program for the Australian Pulse Conference. The program will feature keynote presentations, a panel discussion, oral presentations, rapid-fire presentations and a dedicated poster session. This year’s conference theme is Pulses for People, Profit and the Planet.


Following the scientific conference, will be the APC 2023 Field-Day Tour, hosted offsite from the Empire Theatre. Registered delegates will be presented with a tropical pulse showcase of research, production and processing sites across the scenic Darling Downs, one of Australia’s most fertile and diverse cropping regions. The Field-Day Tour will have three concurrent group tours: Agronomy, Research and a Processor Tour.

Meet the APC 2023 Keynote Speakers

Anne-Maree Weston

 Anne Maree worked for almost 20 years in strategic planning and capital raising for agricultural businesses, ranging from SMEs to corporations and institutional investors.  She understands agribusiness at the grass roots level and brings a pragmatic and commercial approach to her government role.

Andrew May

Andrew May is Co-Chief Executive Officer at UniGrain. Unigrain is an Australian-based food and agribusiness, specialising in the manufacture of oat- and pulse-based food ingredients. Unigrain produces a diverse range of products encompassing both traditional cereal and pulse ingredients for the domestic and Asian markets, as well as more recently expanding into pulse proteins and other fractionated plant-based products.

Crispin Howit

In 2000 he moved to CSIRO in Canberra, Australia, for a second postdoctoral fellowship using gene technology to modify starch structure and function in the model plant Arabidopsis. At the end of 2002 he moved into the area of cereal quality. Since then he has had a diverse range of interests: carotenoid biosynthesis in cereal grains, how manipulation of protein content and composition impacts end product functionality, the genetics of end product quality in wheat and modification of grain composition for health benefits.

Juraj Durco

Juraj Durco is a natural collaborator, food technologist, consultant and R&D leader currently heading Plant Protein Innovation Hub for Kraft Heinz. His role is to promote agile innovation ecosystem by leveraging internal and external partners with one objective – developing delicious plant protein-based food for many, not few.

David Herridge

David Herridge is currently an Adjunct Professor, School of Environmental and Rural Science, University of New England, Armidale. For the 11 years prior to that, he was Research Professor, Soil Productivity, UNE, and the 40 years prior to that was with the NSW Department of Primary Industries. 

Rebecca Ford

Rebecca is a collaborative, interdisciplinary and outcome focused research leader. Her broad focus is to improve sustainability of food production systems, in developing and implementing novel tools for informed disease management and selective breeding.

Doug Cook

Douglas R. Cook is a Professor at the University of California-Davis. He received his doctoral degree from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and conducted postdoctoral research at the Carnegie Institution of Washington’s Department of Embryology at The Johns Hopkins University. 

Victor Sadras

Victor Sadras has measured, modelled and developed theory on the water, nitrogen and carbon economies of annual (wheat, maize, oat, cotton, sunflower, soybean, pulses) and perennial crops (grapevine, olive) in rainfed and irrigated systems of Australia, Argentina, and China. His most important scientific contribution is an ongoing theoretical model of crop yield accounting for agronomic, physiological, ecological, and evolutionary factors including genomic conflict, transitions in the units of selection, phenotypic plasticity, plant-insect relations, and resource co-limitation.  

The Conference begins in...